Salad

Made this tonight and it was amazing.  I had a feeling I would love it as it includes so many of my favorite ingredients.  I thought the cilantro might be weird in the salad but it was really good (if you like cilantro). I used a mixture of Boston lettuce, baby arugula and baby spinach.  We also added crumbled blue cheese.  Some of my other tweaks are noted below.

Dressing – I thought 1/3 cup of sugar seemed like an awful lot so I did a scant 1/3 cup.  Even still, the dressing was quite sweet so I will probably take it down to 1/4 a cup next time.  I didn’t use the minced onion (because I didn’t have any!) and I didn’t include the sesame seeds (seemed like an unnecessary addition that would compete with other flavors).  I also just used olive oil instead of a mix of vegetable and olive oils.

For the nuts, next time I think I will leave out the cinnamon.  While tasty, it just seemed somewhat of an odd flavor with all of the rest of the flavors in the salad.

